What’s Coming in 2020 – A Book List

Hey there, book addicts!

Every month I enjoy doing a book list. Not only does it give me more books to add to my TBR but it gives you some as well! Plus, I get the awesome opportunity to hear from you if you’ve read them!

It’s the beginning of a new year so I’m doing a list on books coming out this year. In particular, I’m focusing on Young Adult because that’s my jam. I’m not saying I don’t enjoy other genres because I do. It’s just that YA is my favorite. So here are the YA books being released this year that I’m really looking forward to!

 

The Twin

Author: Natasha Preston

The Scarlet Reader

Amazon

Emmy and Iris were split up after their parents’ divorce—Emmy with her dad and Iris with their mom. Years pass and their mom is lost in a tragic accident so Iris now comes to live with Emmy and their dad. Emmy quickly finds out that her twin sister, Iris, is trying to push her out of her own life—and might be responsible for their mother’s death.

 

All the Stars and Teeth

Author: Adalyn Grace

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

Fans of Caraval and Throne of Glass, get hooked on the story of a girl that fights to prove her worthiness of being heir to the throne of Visidia only to be forced to flee after it goes wrong. With the help of unexpected allies, she is determined to conquer the destructive magic on the rise and take her place as heir to the throne.

 

Hood

Author: Jenny Elder Moke

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

A twist on Robin Hood, the daughter of the vigilante will have to seek out her father while avoiding the bounty hunter and right-hand man to the king, Wolf. She’s thrust into a life of thieves and mercenaries so different from the quiet one of the convent she’s always known. Getting the adventure of a lifetime, she’ll get to know the father she’s never known.

 

Spellhacker

Author: M.K. England

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

When magic becomes a commodity after a deadly plague, Diz takes advantage in an illegal siphoning gig. When it turns up a powerful strain of magic, she and her friends make a discovery that could save the world.

 

The Serpent’s Curse

Author: Lisa Maxwell

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

The epic conclusion of The Last Magician, Esta and Hart race through time and across the country to steal the remaining elemental stone to stop the Order and save the future, but what will that mean for them in the end, two people that are separated by time.

 

The Mall

Author: Megan McCafferty

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

It’s 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes, and 90210 are, like, totally fresh. Cassie Worthy is spending he summer before college working at the Parkway Center Mall. Though she plans to have an amazing summer and then go to college with her boyfriend, best-laid plans don’t always work out. A complete tribute to the era of when malls were at the height of their game, friendship, love and discoveries in the most unexpected places.

 

Wonderland

Author: Juno Dawson

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

Discovering an invitation to “Wonderland”, the most epic party of parties—three days of hedonistic excess to which only the elite are welcome, Alice hopes to find her missing friend, Bunny. Without her medication, which she desperately needs, Alice hopes to avoid Paisley Hart, who is determined to uncover her secrets no matter what, and find her best friend.

 

Sanctuary Highway

Author: Ellen Hopkins

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

The United States government, now called the Confederation has redefined what it means to be “American”. Two teens are on the run when they fall outside the parameters of the Confederation. Their survival means relying on strangers and not everyone is trustworthy. One wrong whisper is the difference between freedom and imprisonment, life and death.

 

The Dark In-Between

Author: Elizabeth Hrib

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

After dying and then coming back, Casey is haunted by the drowning of her best friend. Feeling like she’s going mad, especially after seeing a boy fall from the sky, she meets Red. The boy that fell. He’s an angel fallen to earth to regain his wings and he’ll help Casey to walk the path of Limbo: the place between life and death so that she won’t lose Liddy to something worse than death.

 

The Unleashed

Author: Danielle Vega

The Scarlet Reader

Goodreads

Sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks and her friends are still trying to return to normal after the Steele house, but the hauntings of Drearfield are not even close to over. Prom is coming up and Hendricks is trying to focus on that, but she can’t stop thinking about Eddie and thinking he may still be out there somewhere. Together with her friends, she tries to summon his spirit and gets more than she bargained for. Things start happening again. Lights flickering in the school library. Mysterious girls roaming the halls. Hendricks discovers they might not have summoned Eddie at all but something more dangerous than anything they’ve ever seen.

 

I’m so excited about these releases and I can’t wait to get my hands on them. Some are a part of a couple series that I’ve unbelievably enjoyed. Others just have me smitten and excited to read. What books are you looking forward to this year?

More to come soon…

  -K.

 

Find Me:

Twitter

Goodreads

 

Thoughts? Let’s chat in the comments below!

From Time Traveler to Devil’s Thief…That Escalated Quickly (The Devil’s Thief – A Book Review)

The Devil’s Thief (The Last Magician (#2)
Author: Lisa Maxwell
Published: 2018

On Goodreads

The Devil's Thief - Goodreads

My Rating: Full boltFull boltFull boltFull boltFull bolt

Rated T for twistier betrayals that are for the greater good…right?

Hunt the stones.

Beware the thief.

Avenge the past.

Everything Esta has known is a lie. Her parents were murdered and those she trusted betrayed her. Now, she and Harte Darrigan must travel to the world fair in St. Louis to track down the magical artifacts that and help fix the brink that surrounds Manhattan. It gets complicated since Darrigan is struggling after taking in the magic of the Book of Mysteries. It wants Esta, but so does he. Not knowing if what he feels is real or not, he must learn to control the power within him or it may just rip the world apart.

Meanwhile, in Manhattan, Viola and Jianyu must defeat a traitor. The city is on the verge of chaos. With the help of unexpected allies, they may just save the city too. History has a chance to be rewritten, but will it be for better or worse?

 

First off, this review took way too damn long to get up. I apologize for that. Now, on to the review!

 

Scarlet Reader

Simon & Schuster

The Last Magician

Review – Here

 

I have no words. No, that’s not right. I don’t have enough words! Like The Last Magician, I was completely blown. Already excited to read this book, I was not let down when I plowed my way through it. Esta and Harte Darrigan broke free of Manhattan and are now on a mission to collect all of the magical artifacts he sent out of the city so that they may be able to save The Brink and everyone inside of it. The first stop is the extravagant world fair in St. Louis. Complications escalate quickly, just like they do back in Manhattan for Jianyu and Viola. There are more secrets! More danger! More adventure!

There are new characters! With the determined Ruby and Theo and the brave and courageous Cela, Viola and Jianyu find unexpected friendships. Esta and Harte meet Julien, Mother Ruth, and North and it’s unclear if they’re friend or foe. Nonetheless, they made this book even better! So much development and creativity in this series! Sophisticated and complex, I loved them so much. They opened up the main characters in so many ways. I really love how much they add to the story and that they seem like so much more than just side characters. I’m also hoping for more possible pairings because I can’t get enough of Esta and Harte. I’m totally up for Ruby/Viola and Jianyu/Cela. I love how they are together. Viola and Ruby are so hot and spicy together, like hot sauce and firecrackers. Jianyu and Cela are so strong and unbreakable like diamonds. They’re all precious and I appreciate all of them.

shipping it

Tumblr

The setting got so much bigger!! No longer held up in Manhattan, I’m excited to see so much more! I’m blown away at how vibrant and magical it is. I’m just so impressed with the world-building that Maxwell has done. Her vision is just superb. Major freaking kudos. And DAMA (Defense Against Magic Act) gave me some serious disturbing shivers because of how it relates to today.

Did I say I was addicted? Because I am! So much magic and tension and depth for these characters. So beautifully put together and did break my heart a few times. The writing is phenomenal. Sure, in some places, it felt a little drawn out, but it wasn’t so much that I was annoyed and felt the need to skim. There was so much purpose and perfect precision. And, the MAGIC! Oh. My. Gods. Legit. Utterly enamoring. I was swept away on a journey I didn’t expect.

It's so beautiful

Gifimage

 

 

Overall

I’ve said this before, I’m pretty sure, but I’m not one to get into historical reads. I love history, not in the novel sense. Not all the time. But the magic that is interlaced between these pages is so enticing. This book is un-put-downable. I mean it! I’m addicted and desperate for the next one!

 

Quotables:

“The Thief turned her back on the city—on everything she had once been and on all the lies she had once believed. The ache of loss had honed her, and the weight of memory had pressed her into something new—hard and cold as diamond. The Thief carried the memory of those losses as a weapon against what was to come as she faced the span of the great bridge.” (p. 1)

“…a friend turned foe who would destroy the heart of magic if he held it in his hands. He was coming…” (p. 176)

“Americani and their guns. They all thought they were cowboys. Too bad cows had more brains than half of them.” (Viola, p. 307)

“…There’s an entire future coming, and Mageus won’t survive by being trapped on the city. Maybe they’d have a chance if things were different. Maybe that’s why we ended up here, so we could see what might be. So we could understand that things can be changed. That we can change them, only this time, we can change them for the better. Even if we can’t go back. We can start now.” (Esta, p. 374)

“You know, all this fuss over magic. People are so busy trying to keep it and control it that they’re willing to do all sorts of evil for it.” (Cela, p. 409)

“Her thoughts felt like birds taking flight, but she couldn’t tell if they were flying toward some new freedom or away from some unseen danger.” (p. 519)

“If it was her lot in life to always want and never have, so be it. She was strong and smart and could make her own way. And there were worse things than loneliness.” (Viola, p. 631)

 

More to come soon…

  -K.

 

P.S. Song today? Home by Daughtry.

 

Find Me:

Twitter

Goodreads

 

Thoughts? Let’s chat in the comments below!